History

1. History of the Forest Estate Ditzrod

The Forest Estate Ditzrod with its hunting area of approx. 5,000 acres is located in one of the regions of North Rhine-Westphalia most abounding in woodland, in the district Siegen-Wittgenstein, directly bordering on the North East of the state of Hesse. The Estate has been in the Sayn-Wittgenstein Family's possession for about 900 years.

Our game population leads a life which, to a large extent, is untroubled by motorways and other perterbations. We strictly prohibit hunting at night and shooting at a decoy place.

Leading wild sows and leaders are preserved all year round.

The main activities of the Forest Estate are concentrated on the forestry, the hunting and the property management of the Princely Family of Wittgenstein.


2. History of the Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg Family

The history of the Princely Family Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg dates back to the 12th century. The dynasty is flourishing today in the two main lines Berleburg (Princes of the Empire since 1792), Hohenstein (Princes of the Empire since 1801) and the special line Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn (Prussian and Russian Princedom since 1834).


The elder Counts of Sayn

A first unconfirmed mention of the Counts of Sayn can be found as early as in the 10th century. Presumably they were subordinate counts of the counts palatine in the Auelgau. The Family is mentioned in a document for the first time in 1134 by naming the two brothers Count Eberhard and Count Heinrich of Sayn.

The Sayn Family's sphere of influence steadily expanded from the central Rhine area to the region around Bonn and Cologne. The biggest accession of its territory was experienced by the Family early in the 13th century under Count Heinrich (Henry) III the Great marrying Mechtild of Meissen-Landsberg whose dowry were other important territories on the Rhine from the landgravian-Thuringian possessions owned by her mother. In 1205 Bruno of Sayn became Archbishop of Cologne.


The Counts of Sayn from the House of Sponheim

The male lineage of Sayn-Wittgenstein takes its rise from the dynasty of the Counts of Spanheim (Sponheim) who domiciliated in the Nahegau region and occupied the dukery of Carinthia in the 13th century.

Count Gottfried (Godfrey) of Spanheim married Adelheid (Adelaide) of Sayn, heiress of the County of Sayn which Gottfried took over including its name in 1247. Adelheid's brothers ranked among the great lords of that time: Count Heinrich (Henry) III who died without issue and whose beautiful sepulchre is in the Germanic National Museum of Nuremberg, and Count Eberhard who officiated as military leader in Livonia.

The wife's name of one of Gottfried's descendants, Count Salentin of Sayn, was again Adelheid. She brought as a dowry the County of Wittgenstein in 1352. Since that time we have called ourselves Sayn-Wittgenstein. Until 1974 inclusively the old County formed the district Wittgenstein.


The elder Counts of Wittgenstein

In 1174 Count Werner of Wittgenstein is mentioned in a document for the first time. He resided in Battenberg. The name Wittgenstein – in its oldest versions Widechinstein, Widegenstein – points to Saxon origin. Since 1238 our ancestors have named themselves Counts of Battenberg and Counts of Wittgenstein after the two fortified castles. The Battenbergs became extinct; thereupon the County of Mainz (Mayence) was seized and then devolved on Hesse. In 1851 the children of Prince Alexander Hesse-Darmstadt received the name Battenberg which was transformed to Mountbatten in England. As escutcheon of their coat of arms they bear the Wittgenstein's family coat of arms: two black pallets in silver.

The brothers Wilhelm (William) and Johann (John) divided the County of Wittgenstein among themselves in 1506. Wilhelm chose as residence the Wittgenstein Palace near Laasphe and Johann the Palace in Berleburg. Both places were small towns inhabited by townsmen who cultivate some land and both places were protected by fortifications which do no longer exist today. The rural settlements were entirely surrounded by forests in an extent of many miles – a hunting paradise with big game including bigger game birds, boars, bears and wolves. Since about 1440 the County of Wittgenstein has, owing to its richness in woodland, been of importance for the heavy industry at that time of the Siegerland, the area of Dill and Lahn and for Southern Westphalia as it supplied the charcoal for the ironworks.

Their descendants partitioned the possession in 1605 into the counties Berleburg (since 1792 Princes zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg), Sayn (Counts zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn, extinct in 1846) and Wittgenstein (since 1801 Princes zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Hohenstein).


The Princes zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg

Count Johann (John) VIII zu Sayn-Wittgenstein (1601-1657), a grandson of Ludwig (Louis), fought several years in the Thirty Years' War and it was not until 1635 that he returned to Berleburg. He was appointed as privy councillor of Brandenburg in 1642. As an envoy principal of Brandenburg he then in 1645 participated in the peace negotiations in Münster and Osnabrück which led to the Peace of Westphalia in October 1648.

A long time was required to obliterate the traces left by the cruel war. The Counties had hardly recovered when a new war approached, in this case having a duration of seven years (1756-1763).

The Counts Johann-Ludwig (John Louis) and Ludwig-Ferdinand (Louis Ferdinand) being loyal to the emperor stood by Austria's side and hence, they had to sustain taxes, forced contributions, pillages and compulsory quarterings. Nevertheless, due to their loyalty the Counts of Wittgenstein were raised to the rank of a Prince of the Holy Roman Empire by the Emperor Franz (Francis) II. That was in the year 1793, shortly before the decline of the independent states in Germany. Henceforth, each one of the Princes of the Empire as His Serene Highness was entitled to write: "We, Prince zu Wittgenstein, reigning by the Grace of God, …" In 1806, however, the independence of the Counties ended. Moreover, according to the resolution of the Congress of Vienna of 1815 the two Counties were united and annexed to Prussia.

Today's head of the collective House is Prince Richard zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg living in Berleburg Palace and being married to Princess Benedikte of Denmark.
Links - Imprint - Driving Directions - Contact Us

Geschichte

1. Geschichte des Forstgutes Ditzrod

Das Forstgut Ditzrod liegt mit seinen ca. 2000 ha Jagdfläche(arrondiert) in einer der waldreichsten Regionen Nordrhein-Westfalens, im Kreis Siegen-Wittgenstein, direkt an der Nord-West-Grenze zu Hessen. Es ist seit ca. 900 Jahren im Besitz der Familie Sayn-Wittgenstein.

Unberührt von Autobahnen und sonstigen Beunruhigungen führt unser Wild ein weitgehend ungestörtes Leben. Nachtjagd und das Schiessen an Fütterungen ist bei uns strengstens untersagt. Führende Bachen und Leittiere sind ganzjährig geschont.

Die Hauptaktivitäten des Forstgutes liegen in der Forstwirtschaft, der Jagd und der Immobilien- und Vermögensverwaltung der Familie des Prinzen Wittgenstein.


2. Geschichte der Familie Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg

Die Geschichte der Fürstlichen Familie Sayn-Wittgenstein führt bis ins 12. Jahrhundert zurück. Das Geschlecht blüht heute in den zwei Hauptlinien Berleburg (Reichsfürsten seit 1792), Hohenstein (Reichsfürsten seit 1801) und der Speziallinie Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn (Preußischer und Russischer Fürstenstand seit 1834).


Die älteren Grafen von Sayn

Eine erste ungesicherte Nennung der Grafen von Sayn findet man bereits im 10. Jahrhundert. Sie waren vermutlich Untergrafen der Pfalzgrafen im Auelgau. Mit den Brüdern Graf Eberhard und Graf Heinrich von Sayn findet die Familie im Jahr 1134 erstmals urkundliche Nennung.

Der Sayn'sche Einflussbereich wuchs zügig vom Mittelrhein in die Region um Bonn und Köln. Den größten Zuwachs des Herrschaftsbereiches erfuhr die Familie am Anfang des 13. Jh. unter Graf Heinrich III., dem Großen, dessen Frau Mechtild von Meissen-Landsberg aus dem landgräflich thüringischen Besitz ihrer Mutter weitere bedeutende Territorien am Rhein einbrachte. 1205 wurde Bruno von Sayn Erzbischof von Köln.


Die Grafen von Sayn aus dem Hause Sponheim

Im Mannesstamm kommt die Linie Sayn-Wittgenstein ursprünglich aus dem Geschlecht der Grafen von Spanheim (Sponheim), die im Nahegau saßen und im 13. Jahrhundert den Herzogstuhl von Kärnten innehatten.

Graf Gottfried von Spanheim heiratete Adelheid von Sayn, Erbin der Grafschaft Sayn, welche Gottfried 1247 mitsamt dem Namen übernahm. Adelheids Brüder gehörten zu den großen Herren jener Zeit: Graf Heinrich III., der ohne Erben starb, und dessen schönes Grabmal sich im Germanischen Nationalmuseum zu Nürnberg befindet; und Graf Eberhard, der als Heermeister in Livland amtierte.

Einer der Nachkommen Gottfrieds, Graf Salentin von Sayn, heiratete ebenfalls eine Adelheid, welche ihm 1352 die Grafschaft Wittgenstein zubrachte. Seit dieser Zeit nennen wir uns Sayn-Wittgenstein. Bis einschließlich 1974 bildete die alte Grafschaft den Landkreis Wittgenstein.


Die älteren Grafen von Wittgenstein

1174 erscheint Graf Werner von Wittgenstein urkundlich zum ersten Mal. Er residierte in Battenberg. Der Name Wittgenstein, in den ältesten Formen Widechinstein, Widegenstein, weist auf sächsischen Ursprung. So nannten sich unsere Vorfahren seit 1238 Grafen von Battenberg und Wittgenstein, nach den beiden Burgen. Die Battenberger starben aus; darauffolgend wurde die Grafschaft von Mainz eingezogen, fiel dann an Hessen, und 1851 erhielten die Kinder des Prinzen Alexander Hessen-Darmstadt den Namen Battenberg, der in England zu Mountbatten umgewandelt wurde. Als Herzschild ihres Wappens führen sie das Wittgensteiner Stammwappen: Zwei schwarze Pfähle in Silber.

1506 teilten sich die Brüder Wilhelm und Johann die Grafschaft Wittgenstein. Wilhelm wählte Schloss Wittgenstein bei Laasphe, Johann Berleburg als Residenz. Beide Orte waren kleine Ackerbürgerstädte, geschützt durch Befestigungen, die heute verschwunden sind. Wälder in meilenweiter Ausdehnung umgaben rings die Siedlungen, ein Jagdparadies mit Hochwild, Schweinen, Bären und Wölfen. Infolge des Waldreichtums hat Wittgenstein seit etwa 1440 für die damalige „Schwerindustrie" des Siegerlandes, des Dill- und Lahngebietes und für das Südliche Westfalen eine Rolle gespielt, denn es lieferte die Holzkohle für die Eisenhütten.

Nachkommen teilten den Besitz 1605 in die Grafschaften Berleburg (seit 1792 Fürsten zu Sayn- Wittgenstein-Berleburg), Sayn (Grafen zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Sayn, 1846 ausgestorben) und Wittgenstein (seit 1801 Fürsten zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Hohenstein).


Die Fürsten zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg

Ludwigs Enkel, Graf Johann VIII. zu Sayn-Wittgenstein (1601 - 1657) kämpfte mehrere Jahre im 30-jährigen Krieg und kehrte erst 1635 nach Berleburg zurück. Er wurde 1642 zum Brandenburgischen Geheimrat ernannt. Als Brandenburgischer Hauptgesandter nahm er dann 1645 maßgeblich an den Friedensverhandlungen in Münster und Osnabrück teil die im Oktober 1648 zum Westfälischen Frieden führten.

Es bedurfte langer Zeit, um die Spuren, die der grausame Krieg hinterlassen hatte, zu beseitigen. Kaum hatten sich die Grafschaften erholt, so dämmerte auch schon ein neuer Krieg, diesmal von siebenjähriger Länge (1756 - 1763) herauf.

Die kaisertreuen Grafen Johann- Ludwig und Ludwig-Ferdinand standen auf der Seite Österreichs und mussten Steuern, Kontributionen, Plünderungen und Zwangseinquartierungen erleiden. Für Ihre Treue wurden die Wittgensteiner Grafen jedoch im Jahre 1793 - kurz vor dem Untergang der selbstständigen Staaten in Deutschland- von Kaiser Franz II. in den Reichsfürstenstand erhoben. Ihre Durchlauchten durften nunmehr schreiben: „Wir, von Gottes Gnaden regierender Fürst zu Wittgenstein..." Im Jahre 1806 war es jedoch mit der Selbstständigkeit der Grafschaften aus. Auf Beschluss des Wiener Kongress von 1815 wurden die beiden Grafschaften zudem vereinigt und Preußen angegliedert.

Chef des Gesamthauses ist heute Prinz Richard zu Sayn-Wittgenstein-Berleburg auf Schloss Berleburg, verheiratet mit Prinzessin Benedikte von Dänemark.
Partner - Impressum - Anfahrt - Kontakt